The building where we find Watts House today was once owned by the Industrial António Marques da Silva, creator of the Hydroelectric Company of the region.
A pioneer in using the waters from the mountains of Serra da Estrela, António Marques da Silva conceived and built in the early 20th century, a Hydroelectric Power Station, as well as the dam known today as Lagoa Comprida.
Thanks to his work, Seia was one of the first places in the country to be powered by electricity provided by the Central Hidroelétrica da Senhora do Desterro in 1909.
Afterwards, the owners of the house were his daughter, Mrs Maria da Glória, and her husband Dr António Simões Pereira, the prestigious doctor who gives name to the square where our space is located.
Watts House was then home to many of the workers who helped develop the Hydroelectric Power Station and electricity in the region.
Although it no longer belongs to the Marques da Silva family, when the building was acquired, the new owners decided to honour its history, thus creating our logo and the name Watts House.


